Planning Board

The Planning Board is composed of the Mayor, a Commissioner appointed by the Board of Commissioners, a township official appointed by the Mayor, and six volunteer citizens also appointed by the Mayor to serve four year overlapping terms. In addition, the Board has an advisory committee, currently consisting of a representative of the Board of Education and two citizens who also serve as alternates and who may vote in the absence of one of the citizen members of the Board. Alternates and advisors serve two year terms.

Advisory committee members work with the Planning Board on committees such as zoning, streets, parking, parks and public property. There are no technical qualifications for appointment to this Board, but in recent years efforts have been made to appoint citizens of diverse backgrounds and professions.

Under the 1979 New Jersey Municipal Land Use Law and local ordinances the function of the Planning Board is to create policies for the future and redevelopment of the township. In this capacity, the Planning Board prepares the township's Master Plan, which is submitted to the Board of Commissioners for adoption. The first Master Plan was adopted by the commissioners in 1978 and the zoning ordinance implementing the plan was enacted in early 1979 as required by the Land Use Law. Since that time the Master Plan has been revised on a regular basis as required by law. The most recent revision occurred in 2012. The Planning Board also recommends to the commissioners changes in the township's zoning ordinance to keep the ordinance current with the Master Plan or changing conditions in the township.

The Planning Board has the power to grant subdivisions, to approve conditional use applications, to grant variances from lot area, setback and yard requirements related thereto, and to grant site plan approvals. There is no professional staff with the exception of an attorney; however, the Board retains a planning professional on a consulting capacity to carry out local studies requested by the Board. All meetings of the Planning Board are subject to the provisions of the Open Public Meetings Act ("Sunshine Law").


The public meetings of the Planning Board of the Township of Nutley, Essex County, State of New Jersey will be held at the Township of Nutley Municipal Building, One Kennedy Drive, third (3rd) floor Commission Chambers, One Kennedy Drive, Nutley, New Jersey 07110 at 7:00 P.M., at which time formal action may be taken on any matter considered by the Planning Board.

2012 Master Plan - Adopted December 19, 2012

A hardcopy of the Master Plan is available at the following location during nomal business hours:

  • Municipal Clerk's Office 
    Town Hall, 1st Floor
    1 Kennedy Drive

Board Members

Carol Tangorra
Class IV Member, Chairwoman
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2025
Mark Arcuti
Class IV Member
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2025
Gerard DelTufo
Class IV Member
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2025
Lorraine Kucinski
Class IV Member
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2025
Anthony Malfitano
Class IV Member
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2025
Walt Smith
Class IV Member
1/1/2020 to 12/31/2022
Frank Contella
Class IV Member, Alternate # 1
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2023
Larry Marchese
Class IV Member, Alternate # 2
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2022
Mauro G. Tucci
Class III Member, Mayor
Director of Parks and Public Property
5/19/2020 to 5/17/2022
Dr. Joseph P. Scarpelli
Class III Member, Commissioner
Director of Public Works
1/1/2021 to 5/17/2022
Jason M. Kirk
Class II Member
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2022
Linda Hamilton
Class I Member, Mayor's Designee
1/1/2021 to 5/17/2022
Barry Kozyra, Esq.
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2022
Gail Santasieri
Recording Secretary
1/1/2022 to 12/31/2022