Zoning Board of Adjustment

The Zoning Board of Adjustment consists of seven (7) regular members and three (3) alternate members appointed by the governing body. The Board of Adjustment is empowered by state law to hear and decide appeals where it is alleged by the appellant that there is an error in any order, requirement, decision or refusal made by an administrative officer based on or made in the enforcement of the local zoning ordinance. Also, the Board may hear and decide requests for interpretation of the zoning map or ordinance.

The Board of Adjustment may grant a variance from the strict application of the zoning regulations of the Township of Nutley. No variance or other relief may be granted by the Board unless such variance or other relief can be granted without substantial detriment to the public good and will not substantially impair the intent and purpose of the zone plan and zoning ordinance of the Township of Nutley.

The Zoning Officer is charged with the duty of enforcing the zoning ordinance.

Meetings

The public meetings of the Zoning Board of Adjustment of the Township of Nutley, Essex County, State of New Jersey will be held at the Township of Nutley Municipal Building, One Kennedy Drive, third (3rd) floor commission Chambers, One Kennedy Drive, Nutley, New Jersey 07110 at 7:30P.M., at which time formal action may be taken.

Board Members

Name Title Term Expires and Email
Frank Graziano Chairman 5/14/2020
fgraziano@nutleynj.org
Suzanne Brown Vice-Chairwoman 12/31/2017
sbrown@nutleynj.org
Thomas Da Costa Lobo, Esq. Member 12/31/2019
tdacostalobo@nutleynj.org
Louis Fusaro Member 12/31/2018
lfusaro@nutleynj.org
Gary Marino Member 12/31/2018
gmarino@nutleynj.org
Mary Ryder Member 5/14/2020
mryder@nutleynj.org
Peter Sirica Member 5/14/2020
psirica@nutleynj.org
Lori Castro Alternate #1 5/14/2018
lcastro@nutleynj.org
Daniel Tolve Alternate #2 5/14/2018
dtolve@nutleynj.org
Joseph Frusteri Alternate #3 5/14/2018
jfrusteri@nutleynj.org
Diana McGovern, Esq. Attorney 5/14/2020
dmcgovern@nutleynj.org
Anjelica Mitchell Recording Secretary amitchell@nutleynj.org